Home » Professionals » Neglect Toolkit » Practical Tools » Day in My Life (Pre-School Child)

Day in My Life (Pre-School Child)

Waking up in the morning

  • What time do I normally get up?
  • Do I normally sleep well? Am I kept awake by TV or anything?
  • Do I wet the bed? If so is there someone to help with the sheets?
  • Does someone help me get up or do I get myself up?
  • Do I have to get anyone else up?
  • Is there anyone else up when I get up?
  • Are my mornings the same or is it different every day?


  • Do I eat breakfast in the morning? What food is available? What do I like to have? Is it the same every day or different?
  • Is there someone to help me make breakfast?
  • Do I eat my breakfast with others or by myself?
  • Do I eat my breakfast at the table or in front of the TV?


  • Do I have enough clothes?
  • Are my clothes clean, the right size for me, right for the weather?
  • Does someone help me get dressed or do I do it myself?
  • Do I have water/a toothbrush and does someone help me to wash and brush my teeth?


  • Do I go to any childcare settings – pre-school / nursery / childminder? How far away is it? How do I get there? Who takes me / picks me up? Is it the same people each day or does that change regularly?
  • Do I tend to arrive at my setting on time or am I late?
  • Do I have meals at my childcare setting? Do I tend to eat them well?
  • Do I like my setting? Do I settle well there? Do I interact well with other children there? What do I like doing when I am there?
  • Do I see anyone for extra help in the setting e.g. Portage?

At home

  • How much time do I spend at home? Who is there to look after me? Is there anyone else who looks after me other than my main carers?
  • Do I have any siblings? How is care split between us?
  • Do I watch TV and if so, is what I watch okay for my age?
  • What type of food do I eat at home? Do I have regular meals? Who makes them for me? What is my favourite food? Do I eat that food all the time or do I try new things?
  • Do I eat with others, and at the table, or do I eat by myself?
  • Is there anyone I can tell if I am hungry and do they provide food for me?
  • Do I have toys and games at home? Are they age appropriate / help me to learn? What is my favourite toy to play with?
  • What do my carers do? Do we spend time together or do our own things?


  • Do I go to bed at the same time every night?
  • Who decides when it is bed time?
  • Does someone help me wash and get ready for bed?
  • Where do I sleep?
  • Do I like where I sleep?
  • Who else is in the house at night time?
  • Do I have my own room or do I share with others?
  • Do I have what I need in my room (bed, curtains, warm floors)?
  • Do I sleep well at night or do I get up a lot?

Additional Considerations

  • Do I have any additional or complex needs (e.g. do I have a physical or learning disability; poor mental health; am I an asylum seeker or have been trafficked or am I a young carer) which can impact on my life?
  • Do I need additional support to help me reach my full potential, and if so, do I get that support?
  • Could a day in my life be improved, and if so how?
  • Do my parents have additional or complex needs and how does this impact upon me?